Leila Josefowicz Plays John Adams's 'Scheherazade.2'

Audio not yet available
Email a Friend
Violinist Leila Josefowicz.

Alan Gilbert leads the New York Philharmonic in the world premiere of John Adams’s Scheherazade.2 — a dramatic symphony for violin and orchestra — performed by violinist Leila Josefowicz, for whom it is written and dedicated. The piece is a New York Philharmonic co-commission with the Royal Concertgebouw and the Sydney Symphony Orchestra.

Adams has said that the four-movement Scheherazade.2 was inspired not only by Rimsky-Korsakov's famous symphonic poem but also the brutality that confronts modern women in the Middle East, and elsewhere. Josefowicz has long been a champion of Adams's work, notably his 1993 Violin Concerto.

The program also includes two early 20th-century Russian works, Stravinsky’s Petrushka (the original 1911 version) and Lyadov’s The Enchanted Lake.

Program playlist:
Liadov: The Enchanted Lake
Stravinsky: Petrouchka
Adams: Scheherazade.2