The New York Philharmonic Celebrates Zubin Mehta at 80

Audio not yet available
Email a Friend

Tune in Thursday at 9 pm as the New York Philharmonic celebrates conductor Zubin Mehta at 80. The performances include soloists Ravi Shankar on sitar and cellist Alisa Weilerstein. The program also consists of musical highlights taken from Mozart, Bartok, Shankar, Werben, Bruckner and more.

Conductor: Zubin Mehta   

Soloists: Ravi Shankar, sitar; Alisa Weilerstein, cello

Musical highlights taken from:
CRUMB: Ancient Voices of Children
MOZART: Symphony No. 25
SHANKAR: Concerto No. 2 for Sitar & Orchestra, Raga-Mala
BARTOK: Piano Concerto No 1 (soloist Barenboim)
FURTWANGLER: Symphony No 2 (Scherzo)
WEBERN: Six Pieces for Orchestra
BRUCKNER: Symphony No. 7
ELGAR: Cello Concerto