The New York Philharmonic Plays Mozart's Final Symphonies

« previous episode | next episode »

Thursday, June 23, 2016

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. Wolfgang Amadeus composed his final three symphonies within the summer of 1788.

Tune in Thursday at 9 pm as music director Alan Gilbert leads the New York Philharmonic in Mozart's final three symphonies. Mozart composed all three all within a span of 12-weeks during the summer of 1788. Together, they show the composer at the height of the abilities and resources. 

The great maestro Nikolaus Harnoncourt considered the trio together creating one grand symphonic oratorio. We'll hear the symphonies in order with the jubilant No. 39 opening. No. 40, the only one of the three symphonies to premiere during Mozart's lifetime, follows in somber G Minor. Concluding the program is the towering "Jupiter" Symphony, of which James M. Keller said, "It's emotional range is wide and deep, prefiguring the sort of vast expressive canvas that would emerge in the symphonies of Beethoven."

Alec Baldwin hosts the program.

Program Playlist:

Symphony No. 39 in E-Flat Major, K 543
Symphony No. 40 in G Minor, K 550
Symphony No. 41 in C Major, K 551, “Jupiter”

Comments [1]

Les from Miami, Florida

For me, performing the three symphonies together is an over-abundance of riches, but I recall hearing Kurt Masur performing all three at a Tanglewood concert with the Boston Symphony and remarking in an interview that he felt the three should be performed together. I wish I could recall more detail.

Jun. 23 2016 06:50 AM

Leave a Comment

Email addresses are required but never displayed.

The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.