Prelude to Perkinson

Audio not yet available
Email a Friend

Host Terrance McKnight returns this week with music and findings about the New York composer and conductor Coleridge-Taylor Perkinson. Perkinson was born in 1932 and attended the High School of Music and Art in Manhattan. He taught at the Children'’s Professional School, at Manhattan School of Music, Indiana University and Brooklyn College, where he also conducted its orchestra. He died in Chicago in 2004 but not before writing orchestral scores, music for film, jazz arrangements and

McKnight shares his earliest memories of Perkinson’'s work and invites listeners to submit their memories or affiliations with this important American musician. Later this year, one-hour radio documentary on Coleridge Taylor Perkinson will air on WQXR, the product of the past several weeks of research (and more). McKnight thanks Marika Hughes and Lauren Rico for their wonderful substitute work during this time.


Beyond Bach

Johann Sebastian Bach

Gabriela Montero, piano



All Night Vigil Op. 37: Blessed is the man

Sergei Rachmaninoff

Estonian Philharmonic Chamber Choir

Paul Hillier

Harmonia Mundi


Blessed is he that fears the Lord

William Byrd

Choir of Magdalen College, Oxford

Bill Ives, director

Stefan Roberts, treble

Rogers Covey-Crump, tenor

Harmonia Mundi


Wanderings: Gift of Life

Derek Bermel

Tara Helen O’Connor, flute

Bob Ingliss, oboe

Derek Bermel, clarinet

Theo Primi, horn

Frank Morelli, bassoon




Wycliffe Gordon

Nagel Heyer


Jazz Suite No. 1

Dimitri Shostakovich

The Philadelphia Orchestra

Mariss Jansons, conductor



Lucky to Be Me

Leonard Bernstein, B Cohen, A Green

Hazel Scott, piano






Seven Fantasies, Op. 118

Johannes Brahms

Misha Dichter

Music Masters


A Hymn for the Lost and the Lving

Eric Ewazen

James C. Lebens, trombone

Eric Ewazen, piano



Frauen und Leben, Op. 42

Robert Schumann

Marian Anderson, contralto

Franz Rupp, piano



Breath of a Rose

William Grant Still

Stan Strickland, saxophone

Vivian Taylor, piano



Piano Sonata, Op. 14, No. 1 in E Major

Ludwig van Beethoven

Robert Taub