Andrew Davis Conducts Prokofiev's Romeo and Juliet

« previous episode | next episode »

Thursday, May 15, 2014

Sir Andrew Davis. Sir Andrew Davis. (Dario Acosta)

Sir Andrew Davis returns to the New York Philharmonic to conduct the U.S. premiere of Julian Anderson's The Discovery of Heaven, a New York Philharmonic co-commission with the London Philharmonic Orchestra. Also on the program is Franck's Symphonic Variations for Piano and Orchestra with Marc-André Hamelin as soloist in his subscription debut with the orchestra, and selections from Prokofiev's ballet Romeo and Juliet.

Program details:

Julian Andreson: The Discovery of Heaven

Franck: Symphonic Variations for Piano and Orchestra

Prokofiev: Selections from Romeo and Juliet

Comments [2]

Les from Miami, Florida

As announced, Sir Andrew's suite from "Romeo and Juliet" isn't in chronological order. The order of the sections played is: The Montagues and the Capulets, (to be found in the score for Suite 2), Masks (1), Romeo and Juliet (2), Friar Lawrence (2), Dance of the Antilles Girls (2), Romeo at the Grave of Juliet (2), and Death of Tybalt (1). I was especially taken throughout by the full open sound of the horns and the low brass. The divided strings called for in the Romeo and Juliet section and in Friar Lawrence were very well-balanced and in tune. My preference is for louder percussion in "Masks", although it's written "pianissimo". I wish Sir Andrew had selected all three Suites from the ballet as his program in lieu of playing the entire ballet score, which I would have preferred. It's no news to state that the New York Philharmonic is a world-class orchestra, but the playing of the ballet selections re-affirms this assumption. Here's hoping Sir Andrew will return soon. He's working wonders conducting the Lyric Opera of Chicago.

May. 18 2014 03:07 PM
Pedro Caldas from Colombia

Thank You WQXR.

The World is TRULLY a BETTER place, because YOU ARE ON AIR. In this moment I'm listening to Prokofiev's Romeo and Juliet, sitting comfortably, 4800 kms. away from New York, in Bogotá, Colombia, in my studio couch, listening to the heavenly New York Philarmonic sounds!! You made my day! The World has hope.

Best wishes,


May. 15 2014 10:10 PM

Leave a Comment

Email addresses are required but never displayed.

The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.