Quatuor Mosaïques Plays Haydn, Schubert and Beethoven

« previous episode | next episode »

Monday, June 08, 2015

Quatuor Mosaïques. Quatuor Mosaïques. (Wolfgang Krautzer)

Quatuor Mosaïques is an Austrian period instrument string quartet that specializes in performing elegant interpretations of 18th century repertoire on 18th century instruments. Founded by members of Concentus Musicus Wein, Quatuor Mosaïques is volinists Erich Höbarth and Andrea Bischof, violist Anita Mitterer and cellist Christophe Coin.

This is how Coin, a co-founder, explained the group’s name: “In a mosaic, every detail is seen to have been brilliantly thought out, yet the eye is also capable of apprehending the picture as a whole. It is the same with music.”

Fifteen years ago, the quartet made its New York debut at the Frick Collection. For its return visit this season, Quatuor Mosaïques performed quartets by Haydn, Schubert and Beethoven. Haydn’s Opus 20 collection is a milestone of the string quartet genre. In fact, when he was studying with Haydn, Beethoven copied scores of these quartets while preparing to write his own.

The centerpiece of this program is Schubert’s Quartet No. 10 in E-Flat Major. The quartet says that in Austria this work is nicknamed the "Heuriger" Quartet, referring to the wine taverns outside of Vienna.

Radio program playlist:
Franz Josef Haydn: Fuga a quattro soggetti from Quartet in C Major, Op. 20, No. 2
Franz Schubert: Quartet No. 10 in E-Flat Major, Op. 125, No. 1, D. 87
Ludwig van Beethoven: Quartet in G Major, Op. 18, No. 2
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: minuet-trio from Quartet No. 15 in D minor, K. 421 (encore)

Online bonus:
Franz Josef Haydn: Quartet in C Major, Op. 20, No. 2 (complete)

Produced by:

Aaron Dalton

Leave a Comment

Email addresses are required but never displayed.

The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.