Rattle Leads Brahms Violin Concerto with Tetzlaff

« previous episode | next episode »

Tuesday, March 22, 2016

Christian Tetzlaff was Berlin's artist-in-residence in 2014-2015. (Giorgia Bertazzi)

WQXR presents an exclusive 12-part series of live recordings of the Berlin Philharmonic from their concert hall on Tuesdays at 9 pm this spring, hosted by Terrance McKnight.

This week's episode highlights the collaboration between the Philharmonic and its artist-in-residence during the 2014-2015 season, violinist Christian Tetzlaff, with Brahms's great violin concerto. This presentation marked an apex of Tetzlaff's tenure with orchestra. 

The second half of the concert features Claude Debussy's iridescent Images pour orchestre, an orchestral triptych inspired by folk melodies from England, Spain and France. The program concludes with George Enescu’s First Romanian Rhapsody, a vibrant, instrumentally colorful piece that is rooted in the folklore of his homeland.

Program Playlist:

Brahms: Violin Concerto in D major
Soloist: Christian Tetzlaff, violin

Debussy: Images pour orchestre

Enescu: Romanian Rhapsody No. 1 in A major

Additional music:
Beethoven Cello Sonata No. 1, Op. 5
Daniel Müller-Schott, cello; Angela Hewitt, piano

The Berlin Philharmonic is offering WQXR listeners a two-day pass to its Digital Concert Hall by using the code "WQXR." Berlin Philharmonic recordings are available for sale on iTunes.

Comments [1]

Nicolas Fink from Mexico

Excelent program the best.

Apr. 14 2016 02:15 PM

Leave a Comment

Email addresses are required but never displayed.

The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.