Rodgers, Bernstein, Copland and Blitzstein

« previous episode | next episode »

Thursday, September 01, 2016

Leonard Bernstein and Marc Blitzstein in 1943. (Library of Congress)

Tune in Thursday at 9 pm to hear archival recordings of the New York Philharmonic, playing works by great American composers: Richard Rodgers, Aaron Copland and Marc Blitzstein. This week's episode features Rodgers conducting his own Victory at Sea: Suite, as well as Copland's Third Symphony and Blitzstein's Symphony The Airborne. 

Alec Baldwin hosts the New York Philharmonic This Week.


Rodgers: Victory at Sea: Suite (arr. Bennett)
Copland: Third Symphony
Blitzstein: Symphony, The Airborne

Conductors: Richard Rodgers, Leonard Bernstein
Soloists: Orson Welles, narrator; Andra Velis, tenor; David Watson, baritone; Choral Arts Society, William Jonson, director

Leave a Comment

Email addresses are required but never displayed.

The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.