Schubert Trio and Berg

« previous episode | next episode »

Monday, June 06, 2016

Alessio Bax. Alessio Bax. (Lisa-Marie Mazzucco)

Tune in at 10 pm Monday as WQXR host Elliott Forrest hosts performances by members of the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center. This week's episode features co-artistic directors Wu Han (piano) and David Finckel (cello) in Schubert's Trio No. 1, with violinist Philip Setzer rounding out the group.

But first pianist Alessio Bax will play Berg's Piano Sonata, a one movement piece that the composer wrote in 1908.

Finckel will provide additional commentary.

Program Playlist:

Berg: Sonata for Piano, Op. 1
Alessio Bax, Piano

Schubert: Trio No. 1 in B-flat major for Piano, Violin, and Cello, D. 898, Op. 99
Wu Han, piano; Phillip Setzer, violin; David Finckel, cello

Leave a Comment

Email addresses are required but never displayed.

The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.