From the Vaults, Part Three: Meet the Composer With Otto Luening

« previous episode | next episode »

Wednesday, March 01, 2017

Otto Luening and Vladimir Ussachevsky in the Columbia-Princeton Electronic Music Center (Musicainformatica)

Meet the Composer with Nadia Sirota – Q2 Music's podcast about the musical creative process – returns for its third season on Monday, March 6. Pre-game for the new season with a week of clips from the original WNYC radio program. Meet the Composer is available on iTunes or wherever you get your podcasts.

Today's blast from the past features the composers and electronic experimentalists Alvin Lucier and Otto Luening. Page introduces us to Lucier's seminal tape piece, I am sitting in a room, and Luening tells the story of his first foray into electronic composition. Luening also wonders at the interest a younger generation has taken in his very earliest music, decades after its conception.

Hear a piece of music you loved in the show? Discover it here!

0:05—Aaron Copland: Appalachian Spring | Listen | Buy 
0:55—Alvin Lucier: I am sitting in a room | Listen | Buy 
3:37—Otto Luening: String Quartet No. 2 | Buy 
3:48—Otto Luening: Low Speed | Listen | Buy 
5:27—Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Flute Concerto No. 1 in G, K. 313 | Listen | Buy 
5:43—Otto Luening: Fantasy in Space | Listen | Buy 
6:29—Otto Luening: Incantation | Listen | Buy 
6:46—Benjamin Britten: Missa Brevis in D, Op. 63 | Listen | Buy 
7:39—Otto Luening: String Quartet No. 2 | Buy 


Otto Leuning and Tim Page

Hosted by:

Nadia Sirota

Produced by:

Jon Hanrahan and Alexander Overington

Comments [1]

Gina Genova from New york

Music scores of Otto Luening
American Composers Alliance Archives

Mar. 01 2017 06:36 PM

Leave a Comment

Email addresses are required but never displayed.

The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.