Simon Rattle Conducts Sibelius

« previous episode | next episode »

Tuesday, April 26, 2016

Simon Rattle conducts the Berlin Philharmonic Simon Rattle conducts the Berlin Philharmonic (Holger Kettner)

Terrance McKnight hosts WQXR's exclusive 12-part series with the Berlin Philharmonic, presenting recordings of live performance from the ensemble's concert hall. On this episode you'll hear music director Simon Rattle conduct Sibelius's monumental Symphony No. 2, which the composer called "a confession of the soul." 

In addition, the episode will feature recordings of the esteemed recently deceased maestro, Nikolaus Harnoncourt, leading the orchestra in selections from Schubert's Mass No. 5 and the composer's Great C-Major Symphony.

Program Playlist:

Sibelius Symphony No. 2 in D major
Simon Rattle, conductor

Also heard in this episode:

Schubert: Agnus Dei/Dona Nobis Pacem from Mass No. 5 in A-flat major, D 678
Nikolaus Harnoncourt, conductor
Berlin Radio Choir and soloists Luba Organsova, Birgit Remmert, Kurt Streit, Christian Gerhaher

Schubert: Symphony in C major, D 944 “Great”
Nikolaus Harnoncourt, conductor

The Berlin Philharmonic is offering WQXR listeners a two-day pass to its Digital Concert Hall by using the code "WQXR." Berlin Philharmonic recordings are available for sale on iTunes.

Leave a Comment

Email addresses are required but never displayed.

The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.