Tchaikovsky, Mozart and Puccini played by George London Foundation Award Winners

« previous episode | next episode »

Wednesday, September 07, 2016

Left to right: Craig Rutenberg, Bob Sherman, Antonina Chehovska, Nora London, Steven LaBrie (WQXR)

This week's Young Artists Showcase revisits an earlier program featuring the 2016 winners of the George London Foundation for Singers Awards Competition. Begun in 1971, the Foundation has given out grants to support outstanding young singers in the United States and Canada. This year’s winners—soprano Antonina Chehovska and baritone Steven LaBrie—performed in the WQXR studios, accompanied by Craig Rutenberg on the piano.

Soprano Antonina Chehovska, born in Ukraine, has won several awards in addition to the George London Foundation Competition Award, including first prize in the Gerda Lissner International Competition, the grand prize in the Cooper-Bing Competition, and the Schuyler Foundation for Career Bridges Grant. She attended the University of Michigan’s School of Music, Theatre and Dance, from which she holds master’s degrees in voice performance and conducting. In this program, she will perform music by Tchaikovsky and Puccini.

Baritone Steven LaBrie is a recent graduate of the Academy of Vocal Arts in Philadelphia. He has performed with Lyric Opera Baltimore, The Dallas Opera, and Washington National Opera. He recently made his Carnegie Hall debut performing with the American Composers Orchestra. He has won prizes in the Gerda Lissner International Competition, the Florida Grand Opera Young Patronesses Competition, and the Gilda Morelli Prize. He will be performing music by Mozart, Korngold, and Tchaikovsky.

Tchaikovsky: Tatyana’s “Letter Aria” from Eugene Onegin
--Antonina Chehovska, soprano; Craig Rutenberg, piano

Mozart: “Hai gia vinta la causa” from Le nozze di Figaro
--Steven LaBrie, baritone; Craig Rutenberg, piano

Puccini: “Mi chiamano Mimì” from La bohème
--Antonina Chehovska, soprano; Craig Rutenberg, piano

Korngold: “Pierrot’s Tanzlied” from Die tote Stadt
--Steven LaBrie, baritone; Craig Rutenberg, piano

Tchaikovsky: Finale from Eugene Onegin
--Antonina Chehovska, soprano; Steven LaBrie, baritone; Craig Rutenberg, piano

Comments [1]

Brunnhilde from NYC

Lovely voices. Actually, really good voices! Congratulations. However, why drag the tempi? It becomes boring listening to constant emoting. The tempi should be kept and when the composer wants the rubato, he allows for it. It should not be every phrase.

Sep. 07 2016 11:58 AM

Leave a Comment

Email addresses are required but never displayed.

The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.