Video Premiere: Christopher Cerrone's Violin-Piano Meta-Instrument at Play

Tuesday, September 06, 2016

Violinist Rachel Lee Priday and pianist David Kaplan performed Christopher Cerrone's Sonata for Violin and Piano Violinist Rachel Lee Priday and pianist David Kaplan perform Christopher Cerrone's Sonata for Violin and Piano (Evan Chapman)

Brooklyn-based composer Christopher Cerrone was named a finalist for the 2014 Pulitzer Prize in Music for his opera Invisible Cities, and was a recent recipient – along with composer Nina C. Young – of the prestigious Rome Prize, a fellowship allowing study at the American Academy of Arts and Letters in Rome.  

You can watch the world-premiere video below of Cerrone's Sonata for Violin and Piano, composed for and performed by violinist Rachel Lee Priday and pianist David Kaplan.

In writing about his earlier works for uncommon combinations of instruments, Cerrone says, "I would often use extended techniques or non-traditional means of sound production to create aural symmetries between these instruments. In my Sonata I use the same techniques, but the intimacy and intensity of the two instrument combination led my ambitions a step further: I wanted to create what I think of as a single meta-instrument, part violin and part piano."

This film was made by Evan Monroe Chapman, and mixed and edited by Mike Tierney. Sonata for Violin and Piano was made possible by the Fromm Music Foundation at Harvard University, and is published by PSNY.


More in:

Leave a Comment

Email addresses are required but never displayed.

The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.

Follow WQXR 







About Q2 Music

Q2 Music is WQXR’s multiplatform home for musical discovery and dynamic new classical music from trailblazing composers, ensembles and leading New York new-music venues. Q2 Music's 24/7 stream lives online at and is accessible via the free WQXR app.


Follow Q2 Music