Watch: NOW Ensemble Unveils New Album 'Dreamfall'

« previous episode | next episode »

Monday, June 15, 2015

NOW Ensemble NOW Ensemble (Courtesy of the Ensemble)

On Monday, June 15 at 7 pm, indie-classical standard-bearers NOW Ensemble celebrated the release of "Dreamfall," the group's fourth album for New Amsterdam Records, following the critically acclaimed "Awake" as well as Missy Mazzoli's "Song from the Uproar." Enjoy a performance of music from the album live from The Greene Space at WQXR, from a group that brings together "the formal elegance of chamber music with a pop-honed concision and rhythmic vitality" (Time Out New York).

"Dreamfall" features seven composers – Scott Smallwood, Mark Dancigers, John Supko, Nathan Williamson, Sarah Kirkland Snider, Andrea Mazzariello and Judd Greestein – and is by far the biggest and most ambitious record for the group to date. Larger than life, ranging from ferocious to meditative to grooving and beautiful, the album is like the life of the ensemble itself over the past few years: pulsing with an urgent message, a desire to open up, be heard, share sound and unmediated musical worlds.

Hosted by Q2 Music's Helga Davis, the evening included on-stage interviews with featured composers. NOW Ensemble consists of New York new-music superstars clarinetist Alicia Lee, double bassist Logan Coale, guitartist Mark Dancigers, pianist Michael Mizrahi and flutist Alexandra Sopp.

Hosted by:

Helga Davis

Leave a Comment

Email addresses are required but never displayed.

The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.