Winter Holidays

« previous episode | next episode »

Thursday, January 01, 2015

Winter in Central Park. Winter in Central Park. (John A. Anderson/Shutterstock)

This week the New York Philharmonic digs into its archives for a winter holiday program featuring Mozart’s German Dance in C, also known as “Sleigh Ride,” and Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 1, "Winter Dreams," conducted by Leonard Bernstein; Skitch Henderson’s arrangement of selections from Winter Holiday, conducted by and piano performed by Henderson; Bernstein narrating and conducting Prokofiev’s Peter and the Wolf; and Danny Kaye conducting Johann Strauss II’s Overture to Die Fledermaus.

Program playlist:

Mozart: "Sleigh Ride"
Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 1, "Winter Dreams"
Henderson:  Winter Holiday
Prokofiev: Peter and the Wolf
J Strauss Jr: Overture to Die Fledermaus

Comments [1]

Howard Aibel

More music, less advertising

Dec. 27 2016 05:33 PM

Leave a Comment

Email addresses are required but never displayed.

The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.