Listen: Xenakis, Saariaho and Sorey Live at Look & Listen 2015

« previous episode | next episode »

Tuesday, July 21, 2015

Miranda Cuckson performs live at the 2015 Look & Listen Festival (Steven Schreiber)

The 14th annual Look & Listen Festival concluded at New York City's Whitebox Art Center with performances by violinist Miranda Cuckson, So Percussion's Jason Treuting, cellist Jeffrey Ziegler and drummer-composer Tyshawn Sorey.

The world premiere of Jason Treuting’s Block and Line, performed by the composer himself and former Kronos Quartet cellist Jeffrey Zeigler, was paired with Paola Prestini's Quiet. Miranda Cuckson and pianist Cory Smythe performed music by Iannis Xenakis, Kaija Saariaho and Franco Donatoni. The Tyshawn Sorey Trio performed excerpts from Alloy and Minutiae by the group’s eponymous member.

Listen to the full audio, including interviews with Treuting, visual artist Slvstr, Cuckson and Sorey above or excerpted pieces below.


Shulamit Ran - Inscriptions

Paola Prestini - Quiet

Jason Treuting - Block and Line

Tyshawn Sorey - Movement

Franco Donatoni - Ciglio III

Kaija Saariaho - Nocturne

Tyshawn Sorey - Allegro

Comments [1]

Christian from NJ

The embed code doesn't work on Wordpress. Any chance you might post that code as well?

Jul. 17 2015 02:58 PM

Leave a Comment

Email addresses are required but never displayed.

The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.