Spring for Music 2012

A Six-Part Series of Live Orchestral Concerts on WQXR

From May 7 through 12, 2012, WQXR presented six live broadcasts from the Spring for Music festival at Carnegie Hall, an annual showcase for the most creative programming ideas among North American orchestras. The second edition featured the orchestras of Houston, Edmonton, New Jersey, Alabama, Milwaukee and Nashville.

Listen to the archived audio from the programs and browse our special features below. Audio will be available for one year.

May 7 - The Houston Symphony
May 8 - The Edmonton Symphony
May 9 - New Jersey Symphony Orchestra
May 10 - The Alabama Symphony Orchestra
May 11 - Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra
May 12 - Nashville Symphony Orchestra

Recently in Spring for Music 2012

Nashville Symphony Goes Electric With Tracy Silverman

Saturday, May 12, 2012

Tonight at 7:30 pm, the Nashville Symphony plays Ives's monumental Universe Symphony. Plus: electric violinist Tracy Silverman.

Comments [4]

Milwaukee Symphony Performs Debussy and Chen

Friday, May 11, 2012

Tonight at 7:30 pm, the Milwaukee Symphony performs works by Debussy, Messiaen and Chen Qigang.

Comments [1]

Alabama Symphony Pairs NY Premieres with Beethoven

Thursday, May 10, 2012

Tonight at 7:30 pm, the Alabama Symphony performs works by two of its recent composers in residence. Also: Beethoven's Symphony No. 7.

Comments [1]

New Jersey Symphony Unleashes Busoni

Wednesday, May 09, 2012

The New Jersey Symphony crosses the Hudson with a program that explores the influences and vision of 20th-century composer and teacher Ferruccio Busoni.

Comments [2]

Edmonton Symphony Presents Canadian Composers

Tuesday, May 08, 2012

Tonight at 7:30 pm, the Edmonton Symphony performs music by three hot Canadian composers, plus Martinů's First Symphony.

Comments [1]

Houston Symphony Plays Subversive Shostakovich

Monday, May 07, 2012

Leading off Spring for Music, the Houston Symphony presents an all-Shostakovich program under the baton of music director Hans Graf.

Comments [3]