Published by
WQXR Features

WQXR and Q2 Programs Win ASCAP Deems Taylor Award

Email a Friend

Two WQXR and Q2 programs, Q2 with Terrance McKnight and Nadia Sirota on Q2, have won the 2010 ASCAP Deems Taylor Radio Broadcast Award.

Q2 with Terrance McKnight, which airs Saturday nights at 10 p.m. on WQXR, is a weekly show about musical discovery, built on unlikely juxtapositions of genres, styles and musical eras.

Nadia Sirota on Q2, which airs weekdays at 12 a.m. and 12 p.m. on Q2, aims to share upcoming events and recent recordings in the world of contemporary music, hosted by the New York violist and broadcaster.

A WNYC Radio special is the co-winner of the ASCAP Deems Taylor Multimedia Award. Host Sara Fishko, along with Dean Cappello, Julie Burstein and Edward Haber won the award for their Jazz Loft Project Radio Series. The series was built from the tapes of loft life discovered in W. Eugene Smith’s vast archive. The award was shared with a related book, written by Sam Stephenson, and a Web site,

Presented by ASCAP (the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers), the 42nd Annual ASCAP Deems Taylor Awards recognize outstanding print, broadcast and new media coverage of music. The winners will be honored at a private ceremony and reception on Thursday, December 9, 2010 at the ASCAP Gallery in New York.

The Awards were established in 1967 to honor the memory of Deems Taylor, a musician, author and critic who died in 1966 after a distinguished career that included six years as President of ASCAP.

The New York Public Radio winners share the spotlight with such recipients as pop critic Ann Powers, for her L.A. Times articles on Lady Gaga and Prince, and Michael Feinstein, for his PBS show "Michael Feinstein's American Songbook."