Pavel Haas Quartet

Audio not yet available
Email a Friend

The Pavel Haas Quartet has been gathering steam since its formation in Prague in 2002. In this broadcast from Weill Recital Hall, the quartet performs music by Tchaikovsky, Shostakovich and Smetana. Their performance comes at the end of a 10-city US tour and is fresh on the heels of a "Record of the Year" award from Gramophone magazine.

The Pavel Haas hails from a rich Central European quartet tradition, having studied with Milan Skampa, the violist of the veteran Smetana Quartet. The quartet is named after the composer who was murdered at Auschwitz by the Nazis, in 1944.

Program Details

Pavel Haas Quartet
Veronika Jarusková, Violin
Maria Fuxová, Violin
Pavel Nikl, Viola
Peter Jarusek, Cello

Below: Cellist Peter Jarusek gives short audio introductions to each of the three pieces:

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky - String Quartet No. 1 in D Major, Op. 11

Dmitri Shostakovich - String Quartet No. 7 in F-sharp Minor, Op. 108 

Bedrich Smetana - String Quartet No. 1 in E Minor, "From My Life"