Published by
WQXR Features

Martin Luther King Concert with Yo-Yo Ma

Email a Friend

Tune in Monday night at 8 pm for the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra's musical tribute to Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Cellist Yo-Yo Ma joins conductor Robert Spano and the ASO for the 20th anniversary of this musical tribute.

The program includes works by Beethoven, Brahms and Dvořák. Choruses from Atlanta will add vocals, including the choir from Morehouse College, Dr. King's alma mater. Kasim Reed, the mayor of Atlanta, will narrate a spoken-word portion of the program.


Beethoven - Overture to Fidelio, Opus 72c

Brahms - Movement IV, “How Lovely is Thy Dwelling Place,” from A German Requiem, Opus 45
Schwantner - New Morning for the World, for Narrator and Orchestra
Dvorak - Concerto in B minor for Cello and Orchestra, Opus 104