Eric Huebner Presents Modern Classics of Avant-Garde Piano

Mixtapes Streams Wednesdays at 3 pm and Thursdays at 7 pm

« previous episode | next episode »

Wednesday, June 20, 2012


A member of the New York Philharmonic and an assistant professor of music at the University at Buffalo, pianist Eric Huebner recently performed as a soloist with Musicians from the Philharmonic in the premiere of Elliott Carter’s Two Controversies and a Conversation, a piece commissioned for this year's CONTACT! program at the MET Museum.

For this week's episode of Mixtapes, Huebner curates an hour of new music that he deems particularly compelling.

"This playlist includes works I feel a deep and lasting personal connection to - either through having worked with the composer over a period of many years (Reynolds and Rothman) or having been influenced by the playing (Aimard, Taylor, Evans and Melford). To provide context for this music, I have included various modern “classics” of avant-garde piano music from the second half of the 20th c. that had a profound impact on me when I first heard them and that I have an abiding interest in.

"I’ve always felt that the best music pushes us towards new ways of understanding and enjoying organized sound. Only through careful listening and gaining some understanding of the piece do we ultimately appreciate the subtlety and expressive grace of the music.

"The composer Elliott Carter, whose recent piece Two Controversies and a Conversation I had the honor of performing with David Robertson, Colin Currie and Musicians from the New York Philharmonic two weeks ago, once said in an interview with Andy Carvin, 'I merely wish to keep the performer in a state of challenge and offer them a piece which is commanding enough[…]to keep them satisfied.'"

"I hope you will find the music offered here as satisfying as I do."
-Eric Huebner


Helmut Lachenmann: Guero, piano study
Roger Reynolds: imagE/piano
György Ligeti: Piano Concerto: I.Vivace molto ritmico e preciso, II. Lento e deserto, III. Vivace cantabile
Jesse Greer (performed by Bill Evans): Just You, Just Me
Cecil Taylor: Double Holy House
Karlheinz Stockhausen: Mantra for two pianos with percussion and electronics
Myra Melford: Bound Unbound: The Same River, Twice
John Cage: Sonatas and Interludes for Prepared Piano: Sonata III, Sonata XIII
Daniel Rothman: Telling the Bees
Elliott Carter: Double Concerto for Harpsichord and Piano with Two Chamber Orchestras: VI. Cadenzas for piano, VII. CODA.

Comments [3]

Eric Huebner

It's fixed! Thank you!

Jun. 22 2012 12:33 PM
Q2 Music

Hey Eric, it actually all streamed correctly! (we were listening) For some reason, it was archived to this page strangely.

Jun. 21 2012 10:22 AM
Eric Huebner

Unfortunately the stream linked above starts with the Bill Evans, continues the end of my playlist and then goes immediately into some other hour-long program of music. The Lachenmann, Reynolds and Ligeti are omitted. I hope someone at the station can fix this.
--Eric Huebner

Jun. 20 2012 06:40 PM

Leave a Comment

Email addresses are required but never displayed.