National Youth Orchestra of the US Makes UK Debut

Saturday, July 27, 2013

National Youth Orchestra of the United States in concert dress National Youth Orchestra of the United States in concert dress (Chris Lee)

At 5 pm on Saturday, July 27, WQXR will broadcast the second in a series of performances from the BBC Proms festival in London. This concert features the UK debut of the newly formed National Youth Orchestra of the United States of America.

Under the direction of maestro Valery Gergiev, the orchestra, made up of American students ages 16 to 19, opens with the European premiere of a work by American rising star Sean Shepherd. Violinist Joshua Bell joins the orchestra for Tchaikovsky’s Violin Concerto. The program concludes with Shostakovich’s monumental 10th Symphony.

Program details:

Sean Shepherd: Magiya (BBC co-commission with Carnegie Hall; European premiere)

Tchaikovsky: Violin Concerto

Shostakovich: Symphony No. 10 in E minor 




Hosted by:

Clemency Burton-Hill


More in:

Comments [3]


The performance by this orchestra was truly amazing and so mature for musicians so young. It is hard to believe that this is such a new orchestra. They also looked so smart in their concert dress....well done and come back soon

Aug. 04 2013 10:17 AM
Howard from Florida

Previous to the Proms Concert in London, the Orchestra performed the same program at the Kennedy Center, Moscow, and St. Petersburg.

Jul. 28 2013 09:26 AM
Les from Miami, Florida

I heard the performance live last week over the BBC, and hearing it again confirms my delight in the mastery of these young musicians, and great feelings of national pride. Mr. Bell's performance of the Tchaikovsky Violin Concerto was essentially that of his Tanglewood appearance a couple of weeks previous to the National Youth Orchestra tour. In the first movement cadenza, he played a chord pizzicato that wasn't so marked, and played octaves in a passage likewise not so marked. In the Second Movement, in a reprise of the main theme, he played it an octave higher than written. There was much detail in the orchestral accompaniment in the First Movement often glossed over, such as ascending and descending scale passages and solo sequences. The Shostakovich Tenth Symphony was masterful: the many solos in the First Movement were outstanding, as well the ensemble in the tutti sections, with horns playing their faultless high E fortissimo. Outside of a couple of solo horn fluffs in the Third Movement --- the Elmira motive E A E D --- (which could happen in any professional performance), if I didn't know it was a youth orchesta, I would have thought it was a seasoned professional ensemble playing. Hats off to all the young musicians, Joshua Bell, and last but not least, to Maestro Valery Gergiev.

Jul. 28 2013 09:17 AM

Leave a Comment

Email addresses are required but never displayed.

Follow WQXR