Summer Symphony Series #4

The Brothers Balliett streams Thursdays at 3 pm and Sundays at 8 pm on Q2 Music

« previous episode | next episode »

Thursday, August 15, 2013

Summer sunset (Mr.OutdoorGuy/flickr)

Summer—that wonderful season of long nights and outdoor concerts—is quickly coming to a close. To commemorate the changing of the seasons, the Brothers serve up a final installment of their four-part Summer Symphony Series with two epic American works by new-music mainstays Aaron Jay Kernis and Charles Wuorinen.

The Second Symphony of Aaron Jay Kernis reminds us of a darker chapter in American history—the Vietnam war. The movement titles "Alarm", "Air/Ground" and "Barricade" are illustrated through his haunting score. Charles Wuorinen takes a less programmatic approach in his Two-Part Symphony, which is full of the spiky tonalities and rhythmic verve that characterize his work.

Filling out our show is a new addition to the ever-growing corpus of fanfares written specifically for The Brothers Balliett. This week's world premiere comes from New York new-music veteran Dave Nelson, who can be heard playing trombone all over the world. His fanfare is called Thursday.

Hosted by:

Brad Balliett and Doug Balliett
The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.

Comments [1]

Mackdaddy from The Vampire Mackdaddy Headquarters/Mackdaddy Townhouse/Atx

this show sounds particularly awesome and intriguing.. I will be stoked when I get time to listen !! :)

Aug. 18 2013 01:57 AM

Leave a Comment

Register for your own account so you can vote on comments, save your favorites, and more. Learn more.
Please stay on topic, be civil, and be brief.
Email addresses are never displayed, but they are required to confirm your comments. Names are displayed with all comments. We reserve the right to edit any comments posted on this site. Please read the Comment Guidelines before posting. By leaving a comment, you agree to New York Public Radio's Privacy Policy and Terms Of Use.