Orpheus Chamber Orchestra Plays Stravinsky in The Greene Space

Thursday, October 01, 2009

Fifteen members of the Orpheus Chamber Orchestra perform a piece by the Russian composer, Igor Stravinsky.  Orpheus will play a work by Stravinsky in each of their Carnegie concerts this season. 

“Dumbarton Oaks”  was written in 1938. It was commissioned by the American diplomat Robert Woods Bliss who wanted to celebrate his 30th wedding anniversary with a new work by Stravinsky.  It was premiered in the music room of the Bliss home in Washington DC.  This Concerto in E-flat for Chamber Orchestra is nicknamed “Dumbarton Oaks”: the name of the Bliss’s estate.


More in:

Comments [4]


Please update your Flash player by downloading free software here: http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/otherversions/

Apr. 12 2010 12:45 PM


It's possible your friends need to update their browser software or Flash player. If they're still having trouble, have them email listenerservices@wqxr.org with what browser they're using.

Apr. 12 2010 12:44 PM
gary gach

a sterling rendition ; i'm becoming a fan if not devotee of orpheus (and wqxr) but when i send the hyperlink to friends they can't see the streaming video instead it says 'file downloading' what am i doing wrong in trying to send it along ?

Apr. 09 2010 01:07 PM
Frederick Herrick DDS from Greenville Junction ,Maine

Dear Sir,

I can not down load your videos. Can I down load them to MSN Media Player or Real Play Media Player?

Thank you.

Oct. 15 2009 04:27 PM

Leave a Comment

Email addresses are required but never displayed.

Follow WQXR