Published by

London Committee Selects Key Members of 2012 Olympics Creative Team

Email a Friend

The organizers of London's 2012 Olympics have announced key members of the creative team that will help produce the opening and closing ceremonies of the global event.

Danny Boyle has been tapped by the London Organising Committee of the Olympic Games and Paralympic Games (LOCOG) to serve as an artistic director, leading a four-member team to produce the opening ceremony of the games.

The team, comprised of Stephen Daldry, Mark Fisher, Hamish Hamilton, and Catherine Ugwu, will work on both the opening and closing ceremonies; but the committee says it will announce a second artistic director later this year to lead creative work on the closing ceremony.

Boyle, an award-winning director and producer, earned an Academy Award in 2009 for directing "Slumdog Millionaire." He expressed his gratitude and enthusiasm to the committee, in a press release posted on the official website of the 2012 Olympics: "It's a completely unique opportunity to contribute to what I'm sure are going to be a fantastic Games," he said. "I'm really excited to be involved."

Daldry and Hamilton are both accomplished directors. Daldry earned three Academy Award nominations for his direction of the films "Billy Elliot," "The Hours," and "The Reader," and Hamliton has been nominated for Grammy and BAFTA awards for his work directing television, concerts, and other events, according to LOCOG. They will serve as executive producers of the Olympic ceremony team, with Daldry heading creative and Hamilton leading broadcast.

Fisher and Ugwu will handle design and production. Both have worked to produce and design other events rivaling the Olympics in scope and size. According to LOCOG, Fisher has been instrumental in designing and staging performances for international artists including Pink Floyd, the Rolling Stones and U2, and Ugwu's recent work includes producing ceremonies at the 2010 Vancouver Olympics.

The London 2012 Olympics will be held from July 27 to August 12. The Paralympic Games will take place August 29 to Sept 9.