Vargas Llosa Wins Nobel Prize in Literature

Thursday, October 07, 2010

Peruvian writer Mario Vargas Llosa smiles at a press conference at Instituto Cervantes after he won the 2010 Nobel Prize in literature October 7, 2010 in New York City. (Mario Tama/Getty Images/Getty)

Peruvian author Mario Vargas Llosa, who unsuccessfully ran for president of his country in 1990, has been awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature.

In an announcement on Thursday, Peter Englund, the permanent secretary of the Swedish Academy, said Llosa, 74, was being honored "for his cartography of the structures of power and his trenchant images of the individual's resistance, revolt, and defeat."

As The Associated Press reports, the author has written dozens of pieces, including articles and novels, and has often taken on political topics, as in "Conversation in the Cathedral," which is set in his native country. Llosa is the first South American author to win the Nobel Prize in Literature since Columbian author Gabriel Garcia Marquez was awarded the prize in 1982, according to The AP.


More in:

The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.

Leave a Comment

Register for your own account so you can vote on comments, save your favorites, and more. Learn more.
Please stay on topic, be civil, and be brief.
Email addresses are never displayed, but they are required to confirm your comments. Names are displayed with all comments. We reserve the right to edit any comments posted on this site. Please read the Comment Guidelines before posting. By leaving a comment, you agree to New York Public Radio's Privacy Policy and Terms Of Use.

Follow WQXR