András Schiff Plays Final Sonatas of Haydn, Beethoven, Mozart and Schubert

Email a Friend

Every Tuesday night, WQXR takes you to Carnegie Hall to hear highlights from the past performance season. 

Tune in July 28 at 9 pm for an encore broadcast of pianist András Schiff playing the final sonatas of Haydn, Beethoven, Mozart and Schubert. 

After playing back-to-back seasons of a massive Bach cycle, the Hungarian pianist is now embarking on two seasons of "The Last Sonatas." For this three-part series, Schiff is focusing on the final sonatas of Haydn, Beethoven, Mozart and Schubert, pieces that range in style from playful and straightforward to highly dramatic. Throughout his long career, Schiff has gained critical acclaim for his exploration of these pillars of the Austro-German keyboard canon.

Schiff takes us from Haydn’s bold Sonata in C Major, to Beethoven’s slower Sonata No. 30. The program continues with Mozart’s lighthearted and simple C-Major Sonata, ending with Schubert’s intricate and dramatic Sonata in C Minor.

Elliott Forrest & Jeff Spurgeon co-host. Listen to Spurgeon's interview with Schiff, and read more at the bottom of this page:


HAYDN Piano Sonata in C Major, Hob. XVI: 50
BEETHOVEN Piano Sonata No. 30 in E Major, Op. 109
MOZART Piano Sonata in C Major, K. 545
SCHUBERT Piano Sonata in C Minor, D. 958

Encores: Schubert's Hungarian Melody in B minor, D 817; Beethoven's Bagatelle Op. 126, No. 4; Schubert's Impromptu E-flat Major, Op. 90, No. 2, from D 899

Andras Schiff, Piano

Pianist Andras Schiff performs at Carnegie Hall on March 20, 2015


András Schiff: "There are no Shortcuts to Musical Interpretation"

Editor’s note on Oct. 29, 2015: The writing that initially appeared on this page has been removed because some words or phrases in it were copied from other sources without attribution. We have moved the material that was on this page to another location, highlighted the words and phrases that were at issue and added links to show where the material was originally published. NYPR’s policy is clear: “Plagiarism is an unforgivable offense. NYPR staff members do not take other people’s work and present it as our own” For more on what happened, you may read this statement.


We asked you to share your thoughts during the concert on Twitter and Instagram using the hashtag #CHLive. Below is a collection of your tweets and photos.