San Francisco Symphony Plays Prokofiev, Ravel and Sam Adams

Audio not yet available
Email a Friend

Every Tuesday night, we're re-broadcasting a concert from the 2014-15 season of Carnegie Hall Live. Tune in Tuesday, May 12 at 9 pm to re-live the San Francisco Symphony's performances from last November.

In this episode, Michael Tilson Thomas leads the San Francisco Symphony in a program of Prokofiev, Ravel and Samuel Adams.

The violinist Gil Shaham, a familiar presence in New York, joins the orchestra for Prokofiev's Violin Concerto No. 2. The orchestra also performs Ravel’s ballet score Daphnis et Chloé, with the New York Choral Artists, and Samuel Adams's Drift and Providence, a 2012 co-commission that employs tangy harmonies, silence and atmospheric effects to evoke themes of water and noise (Adams is the son of composer John Adams).

AUDIO: Samuel Adams tells co-host John Schaefer about using electronic sounds in the piece:

Take Our Live Broadcast Quiz Question:
Correct Answer: Music to Drive Away Loiterers


We asked you to share your thoughts during the concert on Twitter and Instagram using the hashtag #CHLive. Below is a collection of your tweets and photos.

Samuel Adams and John Schaefer at the Carnegie Hall studio


  • SAMUEL ADAMS Drift and Providence (NY Premiere)
  • PROKOFIEV Violin Concerto No. 2
  • RAVEL Daphnis et Chloé (complete)

San Francisco Symphony
Michael Tilson Thomas, Music Director and Conductor
Gil Shaham, Violin
New York Choral Artists
Joseph Flummerfelt, Chorus Director