Yuja Wang Plays Brahms, Schumann and Beethoven

« previous episode

Saturday, May 14, 2016

Yuja Wang performs at Carnegie Hall on May 14, 2016. (Ebru Yildiz for NPR)

On May 14th, acclaimed pianist Yuja Wang performed a solo recital from Carnegie Hall's Stern Auditorium. Weaving together works across the romantic repertory, the program features a pair of ballades by Brahms; Schumann's Kreisleriana (based on the E.T.A. Hoffmann character, the eccentric conductor Johannes Kreisler); and finally Beethoven's deeply moving "Hammerklavier" Sonata.

WQXR artist-in-residence Anthony McGill, who is also the principal clarinetist of the New York Philharmonic, joined WNYC's John Schaefer to co-host this live broadcast. 

Yuja Wang appears courtesy of Deutsche Grammophon Gesellschaft.

Program Playlist:

Brahms: Ballade in D Minor, Op. 10, No. 1
Brahms: Ballade in D Major, Op. 10, No. 2
Schumann: Kreisleriana, Op. 16
Beethoven: Piano Sonata No. 29 in B-flat Major, Op. 106, "Hammerklavier"

We asked listeners to share their thoughts during the broadcast using #CHLive. Here is a collection of those tweets and photos:

Comments [1]

Ron Ozer from Arden, DE

Thank you so much for making the audio and video of this concert available, such a luxurious treat!

May. 16 2016 11:03 PM

Leave a Comment

Email addresses are required but never displayed.

The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.