Vienna Philharmonic Plays Mozart, Bruckner and Staud

Audio not yet available
Email a Friend

The Vienna Philharmonic, conducted by Franz-Welser Most, returns to Carnegie Hall as part of the hall's nearly month-long Vienna festival. This program features three works closely associated with that city, starting with Mozart's Symphony No. 28 and ending with Bruckner's Symphony No. 6.

In between comes a recent work: Johannes Maria Staud's On Comparative Meteorology is based on a short story by Polish author Bruno Schulz and consists of six short pieces. It was Premiered by the Ensemble Modern and conductor Pierre Boulez in 2010. 


Mozart: Symphony No. 28

Johannes Maria Staud: On Comparative Meteorology

Bruckner: Symphony No. 6

Programming Note: WQXR's Conducting Business looks at the recent revelations around the Vienna Philharmonic's actions during World War II, and at the questions of diversity within the ensemble.

We asked you to share your thoughts during the concert in Carnegie Hall's live chat or on Twitter using the hashtag #CHLive. Below is a collection of your chat comments, tweets and photos.