Curtis Symphony Orchestra: Curtis, Higdon, & Hahn

Tuesday, February 15, 2011

8:00 PM

The Curtis Symphony Orchestra will return to Carnegie Hall with Maestro Juango Mena and two alumnae of the Curtis Institute of Music: soloist Hilary Hahn ('99) and composer Jennifer Higdon ('88). Ms. Hahn will perform the New York City premiere of Dr. Higdon's 2010 Violin Concerto.

Co-commissioned by Curtis: Dr. Higdon wrote the piece for Ms. Hahn, her former student in a 20th-century class at Curtis, in tribute to their shared journey of discovery.

The Program
Juanjo Mena, conductor
Hilary Hahn, violin (’99)

HINDEMITH Konzertmusik for Strings and Brass, Op. 50
HIGDON Violin Concerto